The TOGAF 9.2 Standard is divided into six parts:

Part I: Introduction
Part II: Architecture Development Method
Part III: ADM Guidelines and Techniques
Part IV: Architecture Content Framework
Part V: Enterprise Continuum and Tools
Part VI: Architecture Capability Framework

We can remember this using a simple mnemonic I3AEA. Or we can go further to construct a longer mnemonic of sorts:


Worth remembering is parts where the key concepts occur.

The ADM is the main aspect of TOGAF and the ADM Cycle occurs here there are nine phases in the cycle as shown in the borrowed graphic:


Preparing properly in the Preliminary Phase helps us develop an Architecture Vision that will B DAT foundation on which we find Opportunities and Solutions based on which we plan and Migrate to new architectures and then enforce Governance and Manage Change.

Concepts such as Architecture Building Blocks (ABB) and Solution Building Blocks (SBB) which are re-usable are discussed in the Architecture Content Frame part of TOGAF. ABBs relate to the Architecture Continuum and are defined in Phases A to D. SBBs related to the Solutions Continuum and are defined in Phase E.

Concepts such as storing the outputs of architecture activity occur in the virtual repository called Enterprise Continuum and Tools part of TOGAF. The word “taxonomy” occurs here and simply refers to classification.

The Architecture Capability Framework is a set of resources, guidelines, templates etc. that can help the architect establish a practice within an organization.

WARNING: These are my private notes.

Leave a Reply

Notify of