Posts in Enterprise Architecture

The Preliminary Phase of the ADM


1. Determine the Architecture capability desired by the organization

2. Establish the architecture capability


1. External Reference Materials such as TOGAF

2. Board and Business strategies, goals, drivers etc.

3. Major frameworks used in the business

4. Architecture capability

5. Partnership and contract agreements

6. Organizational Model for Enterprise Architecture

7. Existing Architecture Framework


1. Scope the Enterprise Organizations impacted

2. Confirm Governance and Support Frameworks

3. Define and Establish Enterprise Architecture Team and Organization

4. Identify and Establish Architecture Principles

5. Tailor the TOGAF Framework and other selected frameworks

6. Develop a Strategy and Implementation Plan for Tools and Techniques


1. Organizational Model for Enterprise Architecture

2. Tailored Architecture Framework

3. Initial Architecture Repository

4. Restatement or reference to business principles, goals and drivers

5. Request for Architecture Work

6. Architecture Governance Framework


1. Defining the enterprise

2. Identifying key drivers and elements on the organizational context

3. Defining the requirements for architecture work

4. Defining the principles that will inform any architecture work

5. Defining the framework to be used

6. Defining the relationships between management frameworks

7. Evaluating the Enterprise Architecture Maturity

The Preliminary Phase is the beginning of the ADM Cycle. This phase depends heavily on what the business really wants. Key decisions like the scope of architecture work and the framework to be used (and how it will be used) are taken here.

WARNING: These are my private notes

TOGAF 9.2: Overview of the Parts

The TOGAF 9.2 Standard is divided into six parts:

Part I: Introduction
Part II: Architecture Development Method
Part III: ADM Guidelines and Techniques
Part IV: Architecture Content Framework
Part V: Enterprise Continuum and Tools
Part VI: Architecture Capability Framework

We can remember this using a simple mnemonic I3AEA. Or we can go further to construct a longer mnemonic of sorts:


Worth remembering is parts where the key concepts occur.

The ADM is the main aspect of TOGAF and the ADM Cycle occurs here there are nine phases in the cycle as shown in the borrowed graphic:


Preparing properly in the Preliminary Phase helps us develop an Architecture Vision that will B DAT foundation on which we find Opportunities and Solutions based on which we plan and Migrate to new architectures and then enforce Governance and Manage Change.

Concepts such as Architecture Building Blocks (ABB) and Solution Building Blocks (SBB) which are re-usable are discussed in the Architecture Content Frame part of TOGAF. ABBs relate to the Architecture Continuum and are defined in Phases A to D. SBBs related to the Solutions Continuum and are defined in Phase E.

Concepts such as storing the outputs of architecture activity occur in the virtual repository called Enterprise Continuum and Tools part of TOGAF. The word “taxonomy” occurs here and simply refers to classification.

The Architecture Capability Framework is a set of resources, guidelines, templates etc. that can help the architect establish a practice within an organization.

WARNING: These are my private notes.